Photo By: Ville Miettinen

“Why do otherwise normal women refuse to go Dutch?” asked Madame X of My Open Wallet. She was quoting an earlier article she read on Gawker, in which the writer (Emily Gould) reports that her friends were shocked when they learned she split the bill on a first date. Why the big fuss? Women have spent years arguing for equal treatment and salaries, why should the dinner tab be any different? Still, some of Madame X’s readers said it is different, guys should pay and I’m pretty sure they’re not the only ones who think that.

I don’t expect I have many regular readers at this time, but to the few of you who do read this, please tell me: How do you decide how much you pay on a date? Does it depend on who did the asking out? Does it depend on your income?

