Photo by: iboy_daniel

OK, I did it. I bought a new laptop and an iPod Touch. But really, the iPod Touch was free, thanks to a back-to-school sale. I didn’t want to do it but I really needed a new computer. My previous laptop was quite old, dating back to January 2003. I took good care of it, updated its RAM a couple years ago and it has served me well. I don’t know any other laptop that has lasted as long as mine did. Unfortunately, in recent months, it slowed down significantly. I knew it was nearing the end. Then yesterday, I decided it was time to move on.

Now $2000 later, I have a new MacBook and iPod Touch. It’s a large figure, more money than I’ve ever spent on anything. My car down payment was $1000. My flight to Hong Kong was $1200. My apartment’s deposit was $1100. $2000 just might be the most I’ve spent at once. I will get a $319 rebate for the iPod, but still, why does it hurt so much?

One reason may be because I’ve been spending a lot of money lately. I just returned from a wedding in Calgary and I’m planning a vacation next month. I had to go to the wedding, I haven’t been on a vacation in two years (and we can only go next month) and I need a laptop to work on. Being frugal has been an exciting and productive experience so far, but I think I may have fallen off the wagon. I’m getting back on it, but I realize that trying to find the balance between getting what you need (family obligations/a break/professional tools) and what you can afford are more difficult than I anticipated. I just wish I could have spaced these purchases out more.

Lesson learned: There’s always going to be something you need to buy. If you can, spread the purchases out to soften the impact on your wallet.

